Victoria University Press becomes Te Herenga Waka University Press

Posted by Te Herenga Waka University Press on 2nd Dec 2021

On 1 January 2022, Victoria University Press will become Te Herenga Waka University Press.

Our new name reflects the evolution and vision of the press, and aligns us with Te Herenga Waka—Victoria University of Wellington, of which we are a proud part.

Te Herenga Waka means ‘the mooring place of canoes’, which is a notion that resonates with us. We are a mooring place for many different authors and their work. The books we publish represent a community of readers and writers who support us, inside and outside the university, in Aotearoa New Zealand and around the world.

The name Te Herenga Waka was first given to the university marae, before extending to the whole university. Our new logo, designed by Philip Kelly and Rangi Kipa, evokes the architecture of the whare whakairo, symbolising a place of relationships, communication and learning.

Established in the early 1970s, Te Herenga Waka University Press has grown from a staff of one to a staff of seven, under the leadership since 1985 of publisher Fergus Barrowman. About 800 books have been published.

We enter our sixth decade committed to publishing diverse creative writing and scholarship from Aotearoa, and to conserving and renewing our legacy of fifty years. Our new name leads our commitment to this vision.